Welcome to Café Nest

blog

Filter blog by...

  • 06-Dec-2012 08:41 PM

    Fight Club Book Review

    Fight Club Book Review

    Author: Chuck Palahniuk

    $34.95 published 1997

    What a great idea! Take the Union Hotel and cross it with a gentleman’s club.  

    A place to work out the angst of modern existence in a discrete environment.  Rule 1; No one can talk about Fight Club.  Rule 2; no one can talk about Fight Club. And this is the only rule that matters – so essential in the breaking.

    This book works, but why? Is it senseless violence or is it the catharsis born of violence that is the key?  Who knows, but it certainly kept me turning the pages.  In the tradition of Clockwork Orange, Loaded, Trainspotting, Blood Meridian, Heart of Darkness, et. al. Chuck Palahniuk takes us into a world disintegrating.  The anarchists finally get the upper hand – and it’s great.  You have to laugh at the sheer blackness of it, and then it hits you - the sinking realisation that this is the stuff of life – shit happens and it happens regularly with no pattern or direction.  Come to terms with it or enter the ways of madness.

    Tyler Durden, the master of mayhem, pulling the puppet strings of chaos, the reincarnation of Cormac McCarthy’s The Judge, or Conrad’s Mr Kurtz. He schemes, he organises - but who is Tyler Durden? Who is the narrator? Disenchanted with materialism, alienated from whatever and everything, brimming with pent up energy and about to explode. Here we have the anarchy and vigour of youth, before the stifling effects of too many drugs, career, family and etc. take their toll.  Its fantastic!
    Read it.  

    And then if you want to journey deeper into the darkness have a go at the following;
    Blood Meridian – Cormac McCarthy
    Heart of Darkness –Joseph Conrad
    Train spotting – Irvine Welsh
    Loaded – Christos Tsiolkas
    Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
    Crow – Ted Hughes
    Screaming for Blood
    Grubs, Crusts
    Anything
    Trembling featherless elbows in the nests filth

    Ah, that is better, think I might head down to the Union...

  • 06-Feb-2013 05:09 PM

    A Festive Nest

    A Festive Nest

    Tis the season of summer and festivities. 

    This December Nest is here to entertain you, soothe your end of year stress away, help you find interesting gifts, cater your parties and all the usual daily cheer we love of good coffee, food and friends. Check out the cinema section for film details including our Classic Feature next week in our debut Moonlight Cinema.

    We are also doing Christmas Gift Hampers to order in collaboration with other wonderful local producers/businesses AND can make Christmas Mince Pies, Cookies, Truffles to order. What else could you want?!

    aah joy joy and joy

  • 10-Dec-2012 03:55 PM

    Food Love

    Food Love

    The way we see food is a little different.

    While our cuisine is built on principles of simplicity and local produce, the combination of our wait staff, location and small-town charm make for one heck of a dining experience. Our well-loved favorites are often accompanied by carefully crafted, one of a kind menu items that take advantage of seasonal produce available locally.

    And while we love food as a stand-alone entity, what we love even more is what it represents. From its ability to lend energy to effectively sustain life (so deep, I know) to its knack for bringing people together, food is so deeply engrained in our day-to-day lives that we often take it for granted.

    So, whenever your next meal beckons you, be it a lowly salad sandwich or feast fit for a prime minister, we encourage you to show a little respect to your food in any way you see fit, even if it be a simple acknowledgement of the importance it holds in your life.

    Better yet, come in and celebrate with us, we’d love to see you.

    Bye for now
    Laura and the Nest team