Welcome to Café Nest

blog

Filter blog by...

  • 06-Dec-2013 04:14 PM

    Gift Giving Goodness

    Gift Giving Goodness Gift giving can be one of the joys of Christmas and made extra special when you can find a good looking, local or handmade offering.

    As the festive flurry comes upon us, at Nest we're busy finding, making, baking, wrapping goodies for you to delight your loved ones with and spoil yourself.   Books of inspiration beauty or quirkiness, T2 range of colour and deliciousness in Tea and wares, Locally made produce; Coffee, Wine, Jam.., Movie Tickets, Nest made produce like our Nesty Christmas Classics- Cran-Blueberry Sauce, Tomato relish(oh so good in a Ham Sambo!) Christmas Mince Tarts, Cookies, even a Holiday Granola breakfast...   We can make Gift Hampers to order full of allsorts of goodies or just browse about and find your own bit of fancy.
    If you still can't decide, we can also help with a Gift voucher that can be redeemed on their choice of film, dining, books or gifts.
    And the best thing is you can enjoy a glass of wine, cake, coffee and a lounge to really add to the joy of gift giving.


  • 09-May-2013 06:23 PM

    To Read or To See

    To Read or To See Classic stories made into epic films.  Perhaps the film inspires you  to read the book or do you have to read it first and then see it on film? 

    No right or better answer here in the nest world you can enjoy both options, and why not?   Get cosy by the fire at home with your hot milo, peppermint tea or glass of red and get swept away in the adventure and intrigue by the words that draw you into another world.  Or make an outing with friends and experience the story painted across the Cinema screen with all the sound and visuals to bring the book alive in different ways.  
    This is topical right now as we are screening Les Miserables.  You may have seen it on stage as the musical or read the Victor Hugo book first published in 1862. Wow and look how it has been transformed into this compelling picture film!  
    The Great Gatsby is another of the moment big film remake. This is now the 5th film adaption of the Great Gatsby beginning with a silent movie in 1926 - doesn't that make you want to read the book and even watch ALL the film adaptations? No? 
    Well whilst this is just premiering in the big city lights, Nest WILL be screening The 2013 version of Great Gatsby later this year - ooh maybe we can make it a dress up theme too!
    Meanwhile, you will have time to read the book.  We've just ordered the lavish and glorious Baz Luhrmann film tie-in edition of The Great Gatsby and expecting it to be on Nest shelves next week.

    Be sure to browse the shelves for more enticing  tales depicted in books and on the cinema screen. Brighton Rock, Fight Club, Pride & Prejudice, Anna Karenina Peter Pan, Les Miserables to rattle off a few. New arrivals will be fresh in store by Thursday 16th May.   I can't wait! Cookbooks, Craft books, Romance Novels, Man books, Gift books, Kids books...

  • 12-Apr-2013 12:22 PM

    Holiday Reading

    Holiday Reading

    School Holidays are starting and what better way to spend some of these glorious days than under a tree with good book, or a whole series of books.

    Discover books 1-11 of the worldwide bestselling Ranger's Apprentice series by John Flanagan

    We asked Heather for a book review on a good read from Nest and like any clever sister, she got Lilly her younger sister to write this.  Check out her review on the Rangers Apprentice Series which even their Dad read and enjoyed.


    Rangers Apprentice Series - Book Review:

    The Rangers Apprentice series by John Flanagan is exciting and action packed. Both boys and girls, aged 12 and up could read the series and enjoy it. They are great books to read, especially if you are just starting to get into reading novels. 

    Will, an orphan who wants to be a warrior but is a bit on the small side, is apprenticed to the mysterious Ranger Halt. Rangers are secretive and silent. They can move unseen and silently through the forest and can shoot arrows in the blink of an eye. They use their intelligence, courage and skills to protect the Kingdom of Araluen. Common people and farmers think they’re black magicians and can’t be trusted. Will shares those thoughts and is hesitant to become one.
    Swashbuckling buccaneers, desert raiders, dark lords, disguised princesses, assassins, travelling minstrels, pirates, religious trouble makers and heroic knights is what brings the books to life.

    I enjoyed reading the series and have read it more than once! The 12 books take you into another world as Will and his friends go on missions and adventures to protect and restore peace to the kingdom. Once I started reading I couldn’t put it down! John Flanagan has created a masterpiece and I recommend it to everyone.

    Lilly Kirkby, 15yrs old.

    Thankyou Lilly & Heather!
    Recommended Retail Price on these books are $16.95 and we are offering a school holiday special at just $12 a book


  • 10-Dec-2012 01:19 PM

    Books books books!

    Books books books!

    We've got books coming out of our ears!

    Ok well not quite, but we do have a plethora of new items for your browsing pleasure, just in time for Christmas. From kids books to cook books to travel books to novels, we've got it all. Seriously, we've got it ALL (even 50 Shades of Grey). Come on in for a dilly dandy, we'll even make you a coffee.

  • 06-Dec-2012 08:41 PM

    Fight Club Book Review

    Fight Club Book Review

    Author: Chuck Palahniuk

    $34.95 published 1997

    What a great idea! Take the Union Hotel and cross it with a gentleman’s club.  

    A place to work out the angst of modern existence in a discrete environment.  Rule 1; No one can talk about Fight Club.  Rule 2; no one can talk about Fight Club. And this is the only rule that matters – so essential in the breaking.

    This book works, but why? Is it senseless violence or is it the catharsis born of violence that is the key?  Who knows, but it certainly kept me turning the pages.  In the tradition of Clockwork Orange, Loaded, Trainspotting, Blood Meridian, Heart of Darkness, et. al. Chuck Palahniuk takes us into a world disintegrating.  The anarchists finally get the upper hand – and it’s great.  You have to laugh at the sheer blackness of it, and then it hits you - the sinking realisation that this is the stuff of life – shit happens and it happens regularly with no pattern or direction.  Come to terms with it or enter the ways of madness.

    Tyler Durden, the master of mayhem, pulling the puppet strings of chaos, the reincarnation of Cormac McCarthy’s The Judge, or Conrad’s Mr Kurtz. He schemes, he organises - but who is Tyler Durden? Who is the narrator? Disenchanted with materialism, alienated from whatever and everything, brimming with pent up energy and about to explode. Here we have the anarchy and vigour of youth, before the stifling effects of too many drugs, career, family and etc. take their toll.  Its fantastic!
    Read it.  

    And then if you want to journey deeper into the darkness have a go at the following;
    Blood Meridian – Cormac McCarthy
    Heart of Darkness –Joseph Conrad
    Train spotting – Irvine Welsh
    Loaded – Christos Tsiolkas
    Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
    Crow – Ted Hughes
    Screaming for Blood
    Grubs, Crusts
    Anything
    Trembling featherless elbows in the nests filth

    Ah, that is better, think I might head down to the Union...